You are here

71.3 The Cadet Corps


The Cadet Corps provides an opportunity for voluntary military service by young people under the age of 21 years. Cadet units are generally organised in individual schools. The Cadet Corps comprises the Australian Cadet Corps, the Naval Reserve Cadets and the Air Training Corps.

Cadets are covered by the SRC Act by virtue of a declaration made under S5(6) of the Act.

Cadets were covered under the 1971 Act, with effect from 1 September 1971, by virtue of Regulation 11 made under S7 of that Act.