You are here

From 1957-1960

On 31 Aug 1957 the Federation of Malaya became an independent country within the Commonwealth.  The Malay States and the Settlements of Penang and Malacca became States of the Federation.

On 31 Jul 1960 the Emergency was officially over and all Emergency restrictions were lifted except in the immediate area of the Thai border where remnants of the MRLA lived in the remoter regions of the jungle.

Schedule 2, Item 3 VEA 1 September 1957 – 31 July 1960