You are here

5.16.1 GARP M - The Approved Guide

GARP M provides detailed instructions and tables for the assessment of the degree of medical impairment suffered by the claimant as a result of the accepted condition(s).  Medical impairment has two components:

  • physical loss of, or disturbance to, any body part or system; and
  • the resultant functional loss.

Chapter 1 to 17 of GARP M contain two principal types of tables for each of these components.  Physical loss is given an IP rating against criteria in “Other Impairment” tables and functional loss is given an IP rating against criteria in “Functional Loss” tables.

Medical impairment, as measured chiefly by loss of vital functions, is addressed in twelve system specific chapters, as follows:

  • Chapter 1  Cardiorespiratory Impairment
  • Chapter 2  Hypertension and Non-Cardiac Vascular Conditions
  • Chapter 3  Impairment of Spine and Limbs
  • Chapter 4  Emotional and Behavioural
  • Chapter 5  Neurological Impairment
  • Chapter 6  Gastrointestinal Impairment
  • Chapter 7  Ear, Nose, and Throat Impairment
  • Chapter 8  Visual Impairment
  • Chapter 9  Renal and Urinary Tract Function
  • Chapter 10  Sexual Function, Reproduction, and Breasts
  • Chapter 11  Skin Impairment
  • Chapter 12  Endocrine and Haemopoietic Impairment

There are five chapters describing methods of assessing certain non-system specific conditions.  They are:

  • Chapter 13  Negligible Impairment
  • Chapter 14  Malignant Conditions
  • Chapter 15  Intermittent Impairment
  • Chapter 16  Activities of Daily Living
  • Chapter 17  Disfigurement and Social Impairment