You are here

Eligible Civilians - World War 2




What is an eligible civilian

An eligible civilian is a civilian who in World War 2 was:

  • killed or detained by the enemy
  • a British subject, and
  • a resident, but not an indigenous inhabitant, of the then territories of Papua and New Guinea.
What types of service are recognised



A person who meets the definition of an eligible civilian has operational service.  Such a person is also accepted as having qualifying service, without need to apply the incurred danger test, provided they were detained by the enemy during the period of hostilities that relates to World War 2.    

More ?

Note: All qualifying service claims for civilians during World War 2 should be referred to the Veterans' Compensation Policy Section, which has responsibility for qualifying service matters.

“enemy means

  • in relation to World War I or World War II - the naval, military or air forces, or any part of the naval, military or airforces, of a State at war with the Crown during that war; and
  • in relation to service in, or a period of hostilities in respect of, an operational area - the naval, military or air forces against which the Naval, Military or Air Forces of the Commonwealth were engaged in that operational area; and
  • persons assisting any of those forces.”



A period of hostilities is defined in section 5B(1) of the VEA to mean:

  • World War 1 from its commencement on 4 August 1914 to 11 November 1918 (both included); or
  • World War 2 from its commencement on 3 September 1939 to 29 October 1945 (both included); or
  • the period of hostilities in respect of Korea from 27 June 1950 to 19 April 1956 (both included); or
  • the period of hostilities in respect of Malaya from 29 June 1950 to 31 August 1957 (both included); or
  • the period of hostilities in respect of war-like operations in operational areas from 31 July 1962 to 11 January 1973 (both included).