According to subsection 5P(1) of the VEA, relevant State land law means any of the following laws:

  • The Real Property Act 1900 of New South Wales;
  • The Transfer of Land Act 1958 of Victoria;
  • The Land Title Act 1994 of Queensland;
  • The Transfer of Land Act 1893 of Western Australia;
  • The Real Property Act 1886 of South Australia;
  • The Land Titles Act 1980 of Tasmania;
  • The Real Property Act 1925 of the Australian Capital Territory;
  • The Real Property Act of the Northern Territory;
  • A law of a Territory (other than the Australian Capital Territory or the Nothern Territory) making similar provision for the registration of dealings with land as the laws mentioned above.