You are here

Namibia - Period and Operational Area



The Namibian operational area included Namibia and the area extending 400 kilometres from its borders into the adjoining countries of:

  • Angola 
  • Zambia 
  • Zimbabwe 
  • Botswana and
  • South Africa (including Walvis Bay).

This was an operational area for Australian forces during the period 18 February 1989 to 10 April 1990 (both dates included).     

An operational area is an area specified in Column 1 for the period specified in Column 2 of Schedule 2 of the VEA to which a unit or individual have been allotted or deemed allotted for duty.