You are here

Service with the Australian Defence Force



Where must Australians have served

Operational service for SP and DP purposes:

  • Afghanistan 
  • East Timor 
  • Rwanda 
  • Sierra Leone

Non-operational service for DP purposes only:

  • service with a designated peacekeeping force
  • appropriate defence force service
  • non operational service during WW1 and WW2

The Australian Defence Force includes:

  • Australian Army
  • Royal Australian Navy (RAN)
  • Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF)

An operational area is an area specified in Column 1 for the period specified in Column 2 of Schedule 2 of the VEA to which a unit or individual have been allotted or deemed allotted for duty.



Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986.